Saturday, 18 January 2014

Born of Night (League # 1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Born of Night (The League, #1)

An excellent read - a science fiction romance with an action [lots and lots of action!] based plot and filled with engaging characters.

First let's get the caveats out of the way. This is NOT hard science fiction and the science is occasionally dubious. The political background [and the League] are not well defined. The assassins may be over the top, but the soldiers [such as those guarding the heroine at various times] are pretty lame for presumably elite troops. You'd expect more Special Forces and less F Troop for the guards on the ranking people of the entire planet ... Should these reasons stop you from reading the book? NO!

So, why should you read this book? Nykarian is the hero and the poster boy for tortured heroes who manage to come out the other side as lethal and deadly, but with a sense of honor. Kyria is the heroine. She spends most of the book being either kidnapped or attacked. She is a princess who has a very naive world view, especially given that she experienced violence at its worst. When she was 8, she and her mother were kidnapped and she was forced to watch as her mother was raped, tortured, and murdered - just before the bad guys put three shots into her with intent to kill her. [I couldn't help but think that an 8 year old is not very big - couldn't they manage to hit something fatal on her? More of the F Troop syndrome.] Yet when Nykarian kills 20 men intent on killing HER, she freaks out on him for his violence. She gets over it [and succeeding moments where the big, bad world keeps crashing in] and she and Nykarian find in each other things they have never had before. Acceptance. Loyalty. Love.

The supporting characters are as fascinating as the hero and heroine. They live and breathe and suffer [and produce some nice snarky dialogue] along with the hero and heroine. It's a vintage Kenyon plot - bad ass hero, beautiful heroine, evil villains galore - and that's a good thing.

#1 - Born Of The Night
#2 - Born Of Fire
#3 - Born Of Ice
#3.5 - Fire And Ice
#4 - Born of Shadows
#5 - Born of Silence
#6 - Cloak & Silence
#7 - Born Of Fury

No comments:

Post a Comment